olesailor

New to 3DR Solo

10 posts in this topic

I am new to the 3DR Solo world. I already have DJI, Yuneec, DIY, and Volantex. But BestBuy had a deal I couldn't pass up. 3DR Solo with Gimbal, extra battery, and props for $499.00

Well went through the manual for setup, including all the preps updating the GOPRO, and running updates on Solo App, controller, and Solo.

It just went south,. Started with their website stating compatible with GoPro Hero 3+, and GoPro Hero 4.But what the webpage should have said ,was compatible only with a GoPro Hero 3+  Black, and above. I spent two days with 3DR tech support from checking firmware versions..

A Hero 3+ Silver didn't work and from working with support patching, un-patching and resets. Later found on many other 3DR forums that everyone had the issue with Hero 3+ Silver. I gave up broke down and bought the Hero 4 Black. Thinking that will work. Then the tech had me reset the Solo. But that created an additional issue, controller couldn't communicate to the Solo and bind.

Still didn't work. So 3DR was going to swap me out with a replacement. I was waiting for response from 3DR for the packing info when I wanted to verify one more time. Especially when their return policy notes they can have you pay for shipping back if their service finds a replacement wasn't warranted.

Then after the reset it was termed a brick. But after similar patches with DJI I thought that the tech never had me reset the controller to have similar firmware match between the two. So I reset the controller, then I was able to bind. Ok one issue fixed but original issue still no live feed from the GOPRO. After reading the manual again I found it.

One more time I dug the website under view video and saw something I never noticed. Well I was telling the technician that I didn't have any live feed and all that I see was the demo video.