timmy67

getting into agricultur

9 posts in this topic

Hello everyone! I am just about to take my f107 airman test. Also I am just getting into the first steps of starting an ag business. I have bought 2 drones so far, one of them with a farming package.

My biggest question here is how can I price per acre? I do understand crop prices differ per lot size, and location. but I cannot figure out a way I can price this out. Its been a real headache for me.

P.S.-All and any input to help me out is greatly appreciated.

I should also mention if you would rather pm information that is totally fine feel free! if you are wondering about my pakage, or drones I have chosen feel free to pm also.

Edited by timmy67

Alan thankyou for the response I will take a look at this tomorrow!

Alan thankyou for the reply! I just had a look. tho not seeing much about prices for an operation per hour, did I miss something there? also there was a lot of helpful information

Hi @timmy67, I think pricing by the hour is a poor strategy and prefer more of a value-based pricing model. You can look into half-day and day rates, but at the end of the day, specifically when it comes to agriculture, there are no standard rates. The industry is too young and the use cases and technology and level of pilot expertise is all too fragmented. You're going to need to talk to the client to best understand what they need, what kind of ROI they'll ultimately get from working with you, and what makes sense re: payment. Part of being a good sales person when running a service business is learning to have a quality pricing discussion with the client.

On ‎1‎/‎26‎/‎2017 at 11:27 AM, timmy67 said:

I ment per acre not hour