SaraBell

SkyVector "DROTAMs"

Hi everyone, I'm still studying up in order to take the test and decided to pop over to the SkyVector website to have a look-see.  I'm in the Jacksonville area and noticed some purple rings. Most importantly is one that is 60 NM around Jax (city not the airport). How do I decode the details in this item? (pic attached)

I'm guessing that GNV_01/133 is the number attached to look up the details for the DROTAM? Where can I input the code to get more details? SkyVector doesn't really give much info on how to utilize this information.

Clicking on the ring makes a new box open with this info:

NOTAM UAS Operating Area GNV_01/133 
DEFINED AS  60NM RADIUS OF CRG  
SFC-400FT AGL 1701091542-1702282200.

2-16-2017 3-03-09 PM.jpg

Edited by SaraBell
Add information

The purple rings are added to live sectional VFR maps to indicate UAS flights in the area. I've never seen one that huge though! These NOTAMs should appear on any live VFR service like http://www.iflightplanner.com/AviationCharts/Default.aspx?Home=1 or https://skyvector.com/ 

If you could provide a state, I might be able to provide more info (Jacksonville is in every state I think, lol)...

• Like 1

OK, yeah I found that too. It's either a mistaken entry by someone or someone has a 333 exemption with a COA to fly that area. 

Think of the purple areas as NOTAMs to pilots in the area that sUAS activity might be happening inside that purple zone and to avoid it laterally or vertically. You can create your own UAS NOTAM via https://www.1800wxbrief.com/Website/uoa - something I do when flying professionally even though I'm not required to do so.

The area that gets me really excited is just to the south south east of this area - they have a notice for SPACE LAUNCH in 1day 16hr!!! :D Having watched a space shuttle launch from Cape Canaveral will be a memory I'll never forget.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, SaraBell said: