Benzo

Recommendation for Aviation Radio for UAV Ops around Heliports?

Hi all, this is my first post. I started flying FPV a couple years ago and got my Part 107 cert in January. I have no airspace exemptions.

I'm starting to fly more commercially for the firm I work for, and have been getting increasing requests to shoot hospitals that we designed, and that means heliports. I'm looking into aviation radios so I can be in better communication with heliports.

Can anyone recommend a good handheld aviation radio for UAV pilots? I've been looking in the $200-$500 range but cost really isn't a huge issue. I've started listening to my LiveATC app to learn this new language that the 107 exam barely scratched the surface of, but still don't really know what to look for in a radio.

Also, do any folks use ADS-B? I currently fly a Mavic so probably too small for a transmitter, but are there good radios with ADS-B receivers built in?

I'm just getting into this and want to make sure I'm doing it safely. Sorry for any dumb noob questions. Thanks ahead of time for any help!

13 hours ago, Benzo said:

I'm starting to fly more commercially for the firm I work for, and have been getting increasing requests to shoot hospitals that we designed, and that means heliports. I'm looking into aviation radios so I can be in better communication with heliports.

Can anyone recommend a good handheld aviation radio for UAV pilots? I've been looking in the $200-$500 range but cost really isn't a huge issue. I've started listening to my LiveATC app to learn this new language that the 107 exam barely scratched the surface of, but still don't really know what to look for in a radio.