• Announcements

Willie

Looking for private instructor

Willie    0

Looking a private coach to teach basic, intermediate and advanced drone flying skills. There are various workshops listed on line but they are either at bad times or the focus primarily on the part 107 certification test.   I want to develop my skills as a pilot, and a private coach might be quicker than reviewing YouTube videos and practicing on my own. I live in Long Beach, CA about 25 miles south of LA. 

Steve Bennett    142

Hi Wilie,

I work in Long beach near the airport. If you are flying as a hobbyist and looking to fly in the area, you'll need to be about 5 miles away from both LB airport and El Monte Army Airfield along with the numerous helipads in the area, unless you already have agreements with these facilities to fly in the area. As a part 107 pilot, I've got similar restrictions unless I get an airspace authorization from FAA and that takes about 30-90 days. Best to go slightly outside the area and look for a clear spot using the FAA smartphone app called B4Ufly.

That being said, what type of craft do you have that you are looking for lessons with?

• Like 1

Av8Chuck    166

We have a field where we do testing and training.  Most training is for our customers but if you wanted to come to our field for training we'd be willing to consider it.

this is about the only video I have on YouTube that shows the facility.

we're located in Thousand Oaks so it'd be an if of a drive but if you arrived early we could do two or three hour blocks.  Also we don't really teach people how to dumb thumb, it's more autonomous mission based training but we have a couple of hotdogs who could certainly help you improve.

• Like 1

Willie    0