JackCarter

starting out...

Hi, 

I just joined your forum and would like to ask for some advice.  
I am a photographer and would like to start filming with drones. 
Recently I almost bought a hexa drone, but friend of mine advised me to get smaller model first and learn how to fly the thing. Guess that's a sensible advice... 
Since I'm really just getting into drones have to admit I have no idea where to start. 

Several colleagues recommended Phantom 3. Apparently there are four models - Standard, SE, Advanced and Pro. 
Ideally, I would like my drone's camera to produce good enough video for documentaries or web campaign, and reasonably good photographs.  
Which model would you recommend as a beginners choice.  

Also, where could I find samples of images and videos taken with those four drones, to make a comparison. I tried youtube...
Last question, and I know there is no easy answer. Would you consider getting s/hand drone ? 

Thank you 

Welcome to the forum. 

Your kind of conflating learning to fly and buying a good AP drone. If you want to learn how to be a good pilot buy something like a small Hubson that you can fly indoors or outdoors with no wind.  To become a good pilot you need to be able to fly in manual and in any oriontatiin. It takes quite a bit of practice.  It’s obviously a good idea to be a good operator,  Phantoms pretty much fly themselves, you just kind of herd them around and often people who learn to fly with them learn to rely on the automatic aspect and it generally takes a lot longer to become a proficient operator.

Regarding the camera you want to use depends largely on the deliverable. If the destination for the content is Youtube then just about any drone with a a 4K camera will suffice. If you want it for broadcast content then your choices are limited.