Sign in to follow this  
JBgroovesUAV

Research before execution

Hello all,

JB here in Cali, the South Bay. I am a total beginner, to both Drones and video photography, but opportunity is looking at me in the face so I better say hello. Two models, each have some features I wish the other had too the MAVIC pro platinum or the Phantom 4 pro what do you think is the one to get? Am I missing out on a better drone for the job, what do you suggest?

Opportunity think high end real estate, also agricultural and inspection uses but mostly outdoor and indoor  private events, so adaptability of equipment is a consideration, and size and noise might be an issue, so might low light levels, I can see cool uses of terrain following ability, I'm a novice so ease of use in both flight and camera a must, and I'm lazy so size and weight of drone and extra gear also a consideration.

I'm here to learn how to do the work smarter not harder, help me out please.

Hi @JBgroovesUAV, welcome to the forum.  You may want to work smarter not harder but with drones it’s about working safer which in the beginning will require you to do both. Everyone will have an opinion on which drone is better, this is a forum. That and 15 minutes will save you 15% on your insurance..

8 hours ago, JBgroovesUAV said:

Opportunity think high end real estate, also agricultural and inspection

Depends on how you difine high end, for a higher end look the P4 is a better choice, the MAVIC has a terrible camera. Neither works well in low light.

8 hours ago, JBgroovesUAV said:

and indoor  private events,

The idea of flying indoors potientially around people professionally is a bit unrealistic.  Indoors can mean a lot of things, you’d get better advice if you elaborated a bit on what your trying to accomplish. 

You'd probably be better served by a MACIC Air until you have enough experience to make a more informed decision.  Neither of the MAVIC’s would be accurate enough for industrial inspection.