Sign in to follow this  
Hakusan

Long term aim

Hi everyone,

I am an American living 30 years in Tokyo. I want to in several years semi retire to start a drone business here, probably largely focused on agriculture. Demand is strong here due to technology shortages and population declines. 

I will likely lurk here. I need ideas on drones/software to buy, and on how to run a business. I am a moderately experienced hobby pilot of a Spark but will look to upgrade of course if I push into business. Soon of course I will get a commercial license—several schools have opened of late. 

Welcome.  

The commercial drone industry in the US has changed a lot since the introduction of Part107 and is going to change even more over the next two years.  No one knows what those changes will be so a key component to success will be how your company adjusts and accounts for the changes.

It’s great that your taking a longer view of this.  There will be a lot of pundits prognosticating about the future, including [especially] me, it’s the nature of forums.  I pointed that out in a different thread and got slammed for it, I guess not everyone appreciates my sarcasm but I guess I deserved it.  At any rate taking a long term approach allows you to asses commercial business opportunities differently. 

Most people start with the drone, get enamored with it and then try to figure out how to make money with it.  I’d recommend a different strategy.  At the moment there are two types of drones 1) A drone that might be very good at what it does but is so tightly vertically integrated that you have to modify your mission in order to accommodate it, and 2) drones that are designed to be a platform, open and extensible, modular so they can be easily reconfigured to meet your mission requirements.