Viability of Agri Drone Operations

Hello, my name is Imogen and I have always been passionate about flight and aviation - I started flying as a cadet at 14, used to be an airline executive, have my PPL and am slowly (weather permitting!) learning to fly drones. I also happen to be involved in farming in the UK and would ideally like to marry my two interest fields with some sort of UAV business - agri-uav consultancy (I am a business development analyst and lawyer by training) or training and building up a fleet of agronomist operatives (a kind of airline I guess). Crop scouting and spraying are my specific interest areas here. 

BUT, this is the UK with dodgy weather and a sometimes stubborn agri community, both of which could hinder smooth and timely operation. 

So, especially the Brits out there, do you think this is a good or bad idea? 

Thanks

• Like 1

Imann - This is very doable, I'd think about it as you help them capture and analyze data. We have a modified GoPro from Multispek (check them out online and ask them some questions) that picks up the full spectrum of light, and crop health can be extrapolated from it. The applications are there, you just need to figure out who your market is, and what information they need/want. 

Hi Alan and Lewis thanks.

Yes. URSULA is the main and well established one (also utilising satellite and airborne platforms) and also SenSat which is quite new. But I haven't been able to ascertain how many clients each has. I know SenSat is after more image interp pax and has farmer clients in middle England. 

I know that the drones are really just a platform for data capture which is the key as it will lead to interpretation and then hopefully cost saving & higher yield making decisions. Key market I think would initially be agronomists who, from the ones I've met, will need a lot of educating and also reassurance that any investment will give a good roi!