Thomas

Newbie FPV Drone builder hopefully flyer with Fixed wing RC experience

Hello, 

I would like to fly a drone in my yard which is 1/3 of an acre so I think it is large enough.  I am totally new to this aspect of RC flying so I am hoping to figure out how I can do this by participating in your forum.  I have Futaba 8 Channel 8J 2.4 ghz aircraft radio that I would like to use with the drone.  I have receivers that I use with my fixed wing aircraft.  Is there a receiver ready version, ARF or kit version or plans that are recommended for an entry level beginner pilot.  My only experience is with fixed wing aircraft that are electric and glow powered.  I have built all the planes I own from ARF kits and some from scratch.

Thank you in advance,

Thomas

• Like 1

Welcome, Thomas. Your radio TX and RX will be fine. You will not need servos but you will need a flight controller and several pertinent brushless outrunner motors, with the correct ESC s and propellers.

For the flight controller, I warmly suggest the KK2 1HC. You can purchase it here:

https://hobbyking.com/en_us/hobbyking-kk2-1hc-multi-rotor-hard-case-flight-control-board-with-remote-programmer.html

It is easy to program and it comes with its own detatchable programmer, so you can even change the programming on the field. It is also very economical and reliable and it allows for almost every multirotor configurfation.

As far as the motors and ESCs  go, I warmly suggest for you to purchase some EMAX CF2822 with 30A SimonK ESCs. It is a failproof combination at a modest price. You can purchase this combination here:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/EMAX-CF2822-1200KV-Brushless-Motor-with-accessories-30A-SIMONK-ESC-for-Xcopter-Multi-free-shipping/1900246685.html