Upfront cost vs. Copyright License

Hello,

I've been reading some posts in this forum and am curious if anyone charges for the use of a copyright license vs. charging a flat fee for a photo/vid package.  I'm interested in starting a video/photo company focused on real estate and such, but am trying to determine the best way to price my work.  Thanks.

• Like 1

Hi Hacktorious,

I'm an architectural photographer and am starting to use a drone to expand my capabilities.

My advice to you is to run your business with copyright and licensing at its core (assuming you're in America, different countries have wildly different copyright laws). You are the author/creator/artist, so you own the work you create. You then license usage of this work to your clients.

This is very important because you can sell the same work to multiple parties, either all together (many parties split your fee), or you shoot for one and then license the images to additional parties.

The big challenge here is clients' understanding of this. Most realtors in my experience, especially single-family and condo brokers, want 20+ photos for a listing and put everything on the MLS which is a big copyright grey area. They get the photos and assume they own them free and clear and can give them to anyone. That's not necessarily bad (I guess morally speaking), but it destroys your business because it greatly decreases the perceived value of your work. Realtors are paying you out of their own commission check (which they aren't guaranteed to get if they can't sell the property), which typically means they want to spend as little as possible so they can sell a property. The images are just a means to an end.