Upsonder - UAV Rental

Yet another way to earn money with an UAV - rent it out!

https://www.upsonder.com

They are in a beta test at the moment operating in 3 major cities - New York, Chicago and San Francisco and provide a way for UAV owners to rent out their equipment to others as well as a market place for service providers. I think I would be hesitant to rent out my UAV to a stranger but their FAQ section states that if anything happens to the drone they will replace or repair it.

https://www.upsonder.com/view/faq

Edited by Spitfire76

Had an interesting and lengthy conversation with an FAA Aviation Safety Inspector this morning.  He is a very knowledgeable Part 107 guy and I mentioned the Upsonder thing.  He wasn't aware of the company but said in no uncertain terms that the owner of the rental UAV would most definitely have some responsibility in the event of some violation or worse on the part of a renter.  I'm no lawyer, but I am going with him on this.

Interesting take on his part, however I am not following his logic. As a pilot, I rented airplanes for years. Any pilot misconduct on my part while operating said aircraft made me directly responsible to the FAA, not the owner. The owner is responsible for a current annual A&P certificate on each airplane and for renting to a pilot with the proper certification.

Under the inspector's logic, the store that sold me the drone can be held responsible for my actions? I see some legal liability on the owner (if product was defective)  but not FAA action on the drone owner. Just my 2 cents. I value my UAVs way too much to rent them...

So what if the owner (me), allows Upsonder to rent to Mr Joe Blow, and I no longer have control of the who what and where, the FAA inspector says the owner (me) is in the "responsibility loop" (my terminology).  Interesting question and all I can say is that it was most likely discussed at a 2:00pm meeting today in Atlanta.