Aden L.

Working with 4K Footage

Hello! I am new to the world of UAS cinematography, and am having a lot of trouble getting videos to play on my computer. There is a lot of different info out there, so I was just hoping to get some advice on what I can do with my current computer to improve its processing power, and what I should be looking to purchase in the future.

At the moment, I am working on a 2011 MacBook Pro with a 2.3GHz Processor, and 8GB RAM. I understand that this set-up will not support 4K, but is there anything I can add-on that may improve my viewing and editing capabilities? 

Next question: What do you all suggest as I move forward and begin to build a more powerful system? What are some must haves for working with 4K? I am embarrassed to say that I get lost in all of the computer jargon, so please dumb it down for me. 

Thank you!

• Like 2

Welcome Aden.  I too am an Apple user and I have a 2007 Macbook Pro, a late 2009 iMac 27" loaded up, iphone 7plus, Apple routers all over the place, and I just picked up an iPad Pro.  The iPad pro seems to do things faster than anything - I love it.  As far as your Macbook Pro goes, there may not be much more you can do to upgrade it.   In a perfect world, where cost is no object, I would say take what ever you can get for it and buy a new Macbook.  Easy to say of course.  The more I think about all this, I will defer to our friends on here for further advice.  I love the Apple world and I dislike all things Microsoft but you can get a lot more for your dollar on that side of the fence.

• Like 1

Aden, since a macbook is a laptop for all intents and purposes, there isn't much you can do to speed up video processing. Both the CPU and Video card are tied to the mother board - no way I'm aware of to swap those out for newer units.