Nickell

Drones & Software For Surveying

I'm reviewing the drones to purchase and would like any recommendation on a Drone and Software for mining purposes, measuring stockpiles and 3D mapping.

I look forward to seeing some other responses here. Thanks for posting. In the meantime, here's a thread comparing Pix4D and Drone Deploy two industry-leading software platforms used in the mining industry (among many other use cases).

I too am about to purchase a drone to get my survey/mapping/aerial imagery business up and running. I am a licensed Land Surveyor (LS) in Western Washington and am looking forward to making the leap.  Prior to being an LS, I was a licensed pilot and the UAV Coach Part 107 school to review for the exam and passed with flying colors within 2 days of the test being made available.

After spending quite a long time researching at various models, including custom and self built, and taking the UAV Coach course on mapping, I have settled on the DJI Phantom 4 Pro. I likely will not do the plus as I want to use an IPad due to the greater flexibility in applications than when using DJI's tablet, even though it does have the very nice brightness. There are other more expensive drones and camera's, but while the 20MP, mechanical shutter camera that comes with the p4p is likely the lowest resolution I would go, it will do the job I need and the price point cannot be beat. Particularly enticing are all the collision avoidance and RTH function built into the p4p. A custom rig would be too many headaches to get started with so that was the first thing off the list.

As for software, I would advise taking the course offered here for to see the flight control applications, and see the differences. Then just try each out.  They are not particularly expensive.