Hi there. I'm totally new in maps and photogrammetry. I recently took the Uav coach course. It seemed very easy to me.

But I was wrong. Hahaha

so I grabbed my drone, installed maps made easy and took my photos...and nothing happened. I was hoping that MME gave me a map, but oh no, it only took the photos...oh deception....

'so I turned to pix4d...only to discover it wasn't cheap and the free version was only for pc....second terrible deception....

'so here I am....looking for a program to help me mapping and develop 3D models ...any suggestions..?

help! 

ok, so i started using photoscan. Appears great from the top but when i try to reconstruct in 3d the result its awful. i don't know but the rooftops of the houses appears not straight but curved...i wonder if it is the lens of my phantom3, or should i give a parameter to align the lenses...good news its that  i started a map with mapsmadeasy, so now im uploading my photos and i´ll have to wait for the 36 hours...

then i discover there´s a beta option for mac of pix4d, and did my first map and 3d reconstruction...i think its not so bad for being my first

Captura de pantalla 2016-02-10 a las 7.26.22 p.m..png

What do you mean by oblique shots? How should I took them? Ididn't saw that option in the MME app for iPad.m That's interesting because I think that's what my photos are lacking of because from the upside they look great but when I move the 3D It looks O.o terrible 

Also my overlap would be better if I take the photos more higher? Or lower? Because maps made easy app let me choose between 40-120 mts. how does this affects the quality of maps? 

On 11 de febrero de 2016 at 8:47 AM, Lewis@IcarusAerials said:

What do you mean by awful? If you have your overlap/side lap lower, and don't get any oblique shots, the 3D model isn't going to be crisp.

The P3 doesn't have fish eye, so I don't think any correction is needed there, and the camera info should be embedded in the file.