Mental

Extending the Range

Hi all, I am a beginner, having struggled to learn on a Hubsan 107L, I have now acquired an MXJ X101. A very different bird. I know it's very much entry-level, so am not expecting too much from it but is it possible to extend the control range? 100 meters isn't much and I'd hate to see it just drift off into the distance!

Once I have managed a few flights - the weather here is not ideal for flying at the moment - I will upload some videos. Don't expect too much; it's only a 1mp camera.

Hi @Mental, don't believe you can extend the range on this model without some serious tinkering. Can I ask, why do you need more than 100 meters? What's the use case? Definitely share some images / videos!

Hi Alan, I don't think 100 meters is very much; our altitude limit in the UK is 400 feet but it would be easy to exceed 100 meters in level distance ... I proved that today! Sadly this bird is now awol. I had it under control up to about 50 feet, and decided to put some more altitude on  ... it started to climb and I leveled it off at about 100 feet ( I haven't had it long and was still getting the feel of it). I noticed the light wind was beginning to cause a bit of drift, so tried to get it back to go more upwind. No response. The controller lights still indicated it was bound but It just slowly sailed off into the distance, out of sight. I turned off the controller hoping to trigger the soft landing but nothing happened. I turned the controller back on and it signaled that it had re-acquired the quad but still no response to the controls. Lost the wi-fi signal a minute or so later. Have searched in the direction it went but found nothing so far.

I won't be replacing it with that model. I've seen others in the same price range claiming about 300 meters range ... if that can be believed :(