Stella

Buying guidance DJI Matrice 200/600 or other?

Hi Everyone!  I'm a student here studying for Part 107!  Hope everyone's doing well : )  I'm interested in getting some feedback about my options for buying a drone with specific specs for a project I'm working on.  OK so here it goes:

Carrying capacity of up to 8-10 lbs

Transmission distance at least 3 miles

Ability to fly at least 6 miles roundtrip

I have been looking at the DJI Matrice 200 & 600 but I'm sure there are alternatives out there...just don't know enough about all of the different manufacturers yet!  I suppose a fixed wing UAV would also be an option.  I really appreciate any help I can get as a newcomer here!  Thanks!! 

Welcome.

A couple of things, I'm not being a stickler for the rules but commercial operations are restricted to Line of Sight LOS.  If you want to break that rule, that's your decision but for those distances, you're going to need more instrumentation than just a WiFi downlink and a 2.4GHz transmitter.  Which adds weight and consumes more power.  

Also, 8-10 pounds is a significant amount of payload for a multirotor, an M600 with that much payload would probably only fly for 10 minutes and not get you anywhere near six-mile endurance.  An M200 probably wouldn't get off the ground and even if it did would require way more than 50% throttle to hover.

What mission are you trying to accomplish?

3 hours ago, Stella said:

Hi Everyone!  I'm a student here studying for Part 107!  Hope everyone's doing well : )  I'm interested in getting some feedback about my options for buying a drone with specific specs for a project I'm working on.  OK so here it goes:

Carrying capacity of up to 8-10 lbs

Transmission distance at least 3 miles

Ability to fly at least 6 miles roundtrip