Hello! This is my first time Posting on here. I just had a question relating to flying within 5 miles of an airport. My question is if this applies to ALL airports, big and small, or just the bigger airport. I live in Logan, UT and the entire valley is covered by class E airspace starting at 700 FT. AGL. Obviously this means if I am within the allowed 400 ft. then i shouldn't have any issues. The airport is shown within this controlled airspace area but does not have any addition boundaries (its a small local airport). Does the 5 mile rule still apply here? The reason I ask is because I get lots of real estate work here and because this town is small, practically every job is within 5 miles of the airport. This means i'll have to request permission from the FAA for every job and then have to wait 30-90 days for jobs that take me about 15 minutes to shoot. most jobs i don't even have to fly higher than 50 ft to accomplish what I need to. What brought this question to my attention (i just assumed all airports had the 5 mile rule) is i just made a pilot profile with Skyward and was looking at Logan with the flight planner map that shows airspace limits and it didn't show any restrictions for my area which it made me wonder if the 5 mile rule doesn't apply here.

sorry for the novel but if anyone has any advice or has an answer to my question i would really appreciate it.

thanks

Liam

Below I have attached the sectional chart image for my area.

59f37b834cc15_CacheValley.thumb.jpg.7ca18ded6ff3c3e0eb070dd6d4c19f0c.jpg

Edited by Liam
  • Like 2

26 minutes ago, Liam said:

I just had a question relating to flying within 5 miles of an airport