Sign in to follow this  
Robh42

What do I need in order to control a gimbal during flight?

Hello, I am new to the drone world and would love to build my own for some aerial photography. I have experience with flying as I own a smaller quad but I am looking for something bigger and a little project for the winter.  I am trying to figure out how I could (if at all possible) have a single transmitter for the quadcopter and the gimbal.  I am leaning towards buying an S500 kit or F450 kit and I'm not sure which yet.  Any guidance is much appreciated! 

Thank you! 

Robert 

Hi Robert.

If you want to build something to give yourself something to do, that's great.

If you want a multirotor that you can use to get your feet wet in aerial photography get a nice used or even new (depending on your budget) Phantom 3 Pro or Advanced.  For what you get,  you could easily spend 2 or 3 times more $$,  get nothing for your build time, and end up with an inferior camera rig.  You could always spend more if you want.  But the P3 is still a great choice for the $$.

The biggest reasons are:

1.  The integrated HD video downlink.

2. The 3 axis gimbal.

3. SDK app support.

If you just have to build something,  why not a fpv racer. 

Others can give you their advise but this is mine.

Edited by Dave Pitman

22 minutes ago, Robh42 said:

Hello, I am new to the drone world and would love to build my own for some aerial photography.

Hello Robert and welcome to the forum.