Hello everyone,

My name is Eric and I'm new to the forum and UAS. I am a 20 year Navy veteran with about 3000 hours as a helicopter crewman/rescue swimmer. I also have 12 years of instructor duty including rescue swimmer, MH-60S, and Aviation Physiology/Water Survival.

I retired 7 years ago and must say...I miss the Navy. That's one of the reasons I'm looking at starting a drone business. I was going to start a survival training business. After the last hurricane that ripped through Houston I realized a majority of civilians don't spend money the same way the  military does...and the market is already saturated with survival websites.  I need to do something that impacts my community.

I'm studying for the test. Don't have a vehicle yet.Still got my feelers out in regards to what's needed in my area. I would love to be able to work with EMS, law enforcement or State Parks/ wildlife management. Only time will tell.

Looking forward to the experience invested here.

R/Eric W

Hi Eric, welcome aboard.  Where are you located?

As an industry drones are intriguing.  They're an enabling technology that is on the cutting edge which is a draw for younger "techies" but in order to be truly useful this technology requires a more "seasoned" understanding of the problems that this enabling technology can solve.  Its almost a generational thing where its equally difficult for these "generations" to meet somewhere in the middle to develop a profitable business, but that's kind of what's required.  Technology is only as good as the managerial hand that guides it.  Younger people lack the experience to understand the kind of disciplined thinking required to chart a course from where the technology is to where it needs to be.