Sign in to follow this  
Fotomon

Authorization to fly in Class B Airspace?

Though I am new to the world of commercial drone photography and only last year passed and received my FAA and NC sUAV license, I have been a commercial photographer for over 35 years, based in Charlotte NC. My son and I are working toward creating a spin off of my business with drone work and creating professional results. With all the present and future construction and development near uptown, we have been asked to take on several projects in the area which means asking for an FAA authorization to fly in Class B airspace this Spring.

Charlotte uptown (and the immediate vicinity) is all in Class B being within 5 miles of the airport, including my studio building and the nearby projects my client needs drone work done of. Challenging for sure if you abide by the rules. Many other commercial drone operators that have done work in this same area and had their work used by developers, are either skirting the law or possibly have gotten FAA authorization. Its impossible to tell but my guess is they are NOT getting the proper authorization. 

Thats not how I do business and will be submitting my first request in the next couple of days to ask for authorization. 

I have been reading through most, if not all the forum threads related to people making requests. Most are in Class C and D and have not found anyone mentioning that they received FAA authorization for Class B airspace. 

Has anyone???