Greetings Airmen,

I am just getting started with Part 107 training and can't wait to start flying. My dilemma is this: which drone to start with? I'm getting into this as a fun way to reignite my long dormant interest in photography. So you can understand why I would be interested in a "prosumer" level drone. 4K video and high end photo quality are important to me. But having never flown a drone before I am worried about crashing my new $2K-$4K investment on my first day out (I do intend to get some flight training). 

So, when I heard about the new Mavic Air I was intrigued. Awesome video capabilities and easy to fly. Combined with 12 meg pixel stills this would seem to be the perfect platform to get started with. And with a price point starting at around $800.00 the inevitable first crash is not as scary. 

Having said that, I should also mention that I have aspirations to do some limited work with my drone in the photography, inspection, mapping and possibly agricultural fields whenever possible. Because of that, I am also very interested in the release of the Typhoon H Plus this summer. It checks off everything on my "want" list and it provides the ability to upgrade to better cameras. For that reason alone I find the H Plus more desirable than the P4Pro which it seems to be in direct competition with.

So, there's my dilemma. Affordable and easy for a beginner to fly with the Air, or a more substantial investment that provides better camera capabilities but is more difficult for a new pilot to fly in the H Plus?

input please.

You aren't the first and certainly not the only beginner to express this concern.

You need to start with defining your requirement, what problem do you want to solve?  If you want to include aerial footage as a professional photographer what's your deliverable?  Etc..