Luke

Flyaway problems

Hi, my name is Luke Dietz. I am a certified drone pilot. I've had some problems with flyaways. I had two drones flyaway in my area Just down the road from my house. I don't have any problems at my house, but when I drive down the road just one mile The drones freak out. The first one was my YUNEEC Typhoon H which was greatly damaged. The second one was a Holy Stone GPS amazon drone, I was able to recover from the flyaways. Does anyone have advice or comments on flyaways and if they can be avoided. It would greatly appreciated. Thank you.

There are a few power lines but they are small.

It in a small canyon only 150ft wide with a river at the bottom

The house at the top has Wifi but so does my house.

Luke Dietz,

15 hours ago, Luke said:

Were you trying to fly in the canyon? In order for GPS to work properly you need a minimum of 4 GPS satellites in line-of-sight. Note the word minimum. We don't collect unless we are locked on at least 6. The more satellites you can see the more accurate the signal/position. That could be part of the problem.

Normally, if you lose your GPS signal then the aircraft "should" go into a neutral state; ie., hold position awaiting your input. The fact that yours has not would suggest that there is another issue with the area you are attempting to fly in. Best advise until you figure it out; don't fly there.

Edited by R Martin
grsmmer; can't spall

It kind of depends on how you define “flyaway.”  

Transient magnetic disturbances can cause loss of communication and induce heading errors, both can trigger your drones failsafe. How you have your failsafe set will determine whether the drone “fly’s away.”  

If it entered failsafe because of an issue with GPS and failsafe is set to RTH then it doesn’t know where home is and just flys in an arbitrary direction.  You think it’s flying away, it thinks it headed home and your both wrong...