New to UAV Coach

Hello Everyone . . . I am a professional photographer (www.studio63.us) and just breaking into the world of aerial photography.  I intend to use my Mavic Pro Platinum to shoot cinema films for weddings and to shoot real estate listings.  I do need to get my FAA Part 107 pilots license . . . any thoughts on a good process to get ready for that?  I see there are a ton of educational programs out there; any thoughts on your experience with these programs?  Has anyone just watched the videos online and passed the test without taking one of the educational programs.  I would appreciate your feedback.  (Frank)

@Studio 63, welcome to our community (and the drone industry)!

Big fan of the Mavic Pro Platinum. Packs a powerful punch for such a small and portable bird.

When it comes to Part 107 test prep, there are many ways to study. Online programs like ours (and RemotePilot101, DroneLaunchAcademy, DARTdrones, etc.), $20 test prep books on Amazon, iPad apps with test questions, 3DR's free test prep portal, the FAA's study guide, YouTube, cheap Udemy courses and I'm sure a few more I haven't seen yet.

You could probably get away with just watching some YouTube videos and passing, but what I've found is that a lot of that information is just about passing and not much more. And a lot of the test questions / industry information is out-of-date. Stuff like airspace authorization, applying for a Waiver, and really understanding the nuances of Class E airspace.

If you're leaning toward a more premium online course, I think the two biggest things to consider are:

• Time saved. You're being told exactly what to study, and through online learning best practices — like a video with motion graphics and dynamic illustrations, lesson notes broken up into digestible chunks, on-going quizzes, full-length (and timed) practice tests with real FAA test questions, knowledge gap reporting, etc. — you'll be able to digest the information much more effectively.