I don't Even Know What I Don't Know

Hello All,

I have joined this forum because I have been looking at this website for a little while now, and have been enjoying, and impressed, by the vast amount of information provided for people interested in pursuing a greater knowledge of the subject. I thought I would touch base with y'all, and request your opinions and advice as to what to purchase, how to go about becoming a good and ethical licensed pilot, and any other advice, should I actually be any good at flying these cool little craft. I put more weight in the opinions of people, of any endeavor, that are actually out doing it. I am an environmental/wetland scientist no longer able to work in my field, or any field at the moment, due to health concerns. I have been looking for other career opportunities in my down time, with an emphasis in eventually starting my own business. I have absolutely no experience in flying UAV's, except an uncontrollable little helicopter my wife bought for me a few years back from Bed Bath and Beyond, so that doesn't count. I have been looking at the beginner level craft on your great website, and have picked out several I really like. I would like to purchase a beginner level drone that is as close as possible to professional level performance, without the large initial investment, as I can. My hand to eye coordination is not effected by my health concerns, and I'd like to see if I even enjoy flying them. I'm hoping that I will, and it will provide me with a way to get back to work, and the woods, without destroying my body any further. Forgive me if I have some industry terms incorrect; some forums take exception to incorrect lexicon.

Thanks,

TC

On 10/21/2018 at 8:36 PM, TopCat said:

Hello All,