Sign in to follow this  
Mike Coddington

Drones for Education

Hello:

I am a robotics teacher and want to introduce drones to my 12th grade advance robotics students.  

I am going to spend 10K on drones for a drone classroom at my school this January.  I have narrowed down the list to PCS, Parallax and UAS 4 Stem Quadzilla.  I am just reaching out to people who might have had experience with these drones and programs.  I am looking for guidance on which might be the best for a high school curriculum.

Got drones in the classroom?  I would like to hear from you and any suggestions you might have
Thanks in advance.

Mike

19 hours ago, Mike Coddington said:

I would like to hear from you and any suggestions you might have

I am not an educator or involved with any STEM program but as an UAV builder I was interested in what sort of hardware and software that those programs provide in their kits. I noticed that the PCS and Parallax kits don't include a GPS module so it kind of rules out any sort of autonomous flying which I believe would be more relevant to an advanced robotics class. In my opinion the AMA made the best choice of hardware and software by using the Pixhawk flight controller and Ardupilot open source software. Now I maybe somewhat biased as I've used those in my DIY builds but I believe they provide a very flexible and advanced platform. Apart from being able to program flight missions from a ground control station like Mission Planner or  QgroundControl more advanced customization can be achieved by adding a companion computer like the Raspberry Pi and run, for example, ROS. It looks like you would get more drones with the PCS program but these seem to be more like toy FPV drones and although the AMA suggests one Quadzilla UAV for up to 10 students it forces them to work on building the drone and planning flight missions as as a team. 

Edited by Spitfire76

Depends on what your trying to teach relative to STEM.