Av8Chuck

FAA Ramp Checks

If this article is to be believed, this is  problem.  

https://www.dronepilotgroundschool.com/ramp-checks/?utm_source=hs_email&utm_medium=email&utm_content=68160594&_hsenc=p2ANqtz-810fazSI4UMhEnCtSvq_GUpyIjbPeLotaQypbUSBtW7eEMB25bY_xDgtNbwJtexwDDI-NWhGhxx4-kRyt43JxQIk4HLw&_hsmi=68160594

I’ve been a pilot for more than 30 Years and have never been,  nor do I know anyone personally that has been ramp checked.  If I were ramp checked as a result of getting a LAANC clearance I would NEVER request a clearance again!  

The FAA puts out crap like “Buzzy the Drone” and then penalizes professionals who apply for their LAANC by tracking them down and ramp checking them!?  

56 minutes ago, Av8Chuck said:

If I were ramp checked as a result of getting a LAANC clearance I would NEVER request a clearance again!

If true, I agree this is problematic.  If I submit a manned flight plan, it is to enhance safety in the NAS for everyone.  If by submitting a flight plan, that marked me as needing a ramp check, then I would think twice about filing one, even if I was trying to do everything correctly.  If the FAA is using a LAANC request as a means to locate and check uas ops, they are going against what they have done in the past.  Maybe they just don't know how to randomly check on uas ops, but this seems like a lazy and wrong approach to me.

In addition, many of the factors listed in what they are checking may be "best practice", but are not currently included in the regulation and therefore the FAA rep has no basis for "verifying" them.  Imagine being pulled over for a "courtesy stop" by local law enforcement and being asked to show your documentation for your advanced NASCAR approved driving training....huh??

Someone is definitely asleep at the switch here.  What a shame.

Yah, our intent with this wasn't fear-mongering.

It's just that the language is open to interpretation, and we get this question a lot about how to interpret them: