High School UAV/UAS Program Startup

Hi all, my name is Bill Kaiser. I am a technology teacher for two high schools in Helena, Montana.

I went to a workshop a couple of months ago and got excited about using drone technology with high school students. We are now dealing with the 333 issues and are hoping the FAA drops some love on us this June so we don't have to deal with the licensed pilot issue. We have a licensed pilot in our district, but the idea is to get kids learning and flying the drones, not the adults. Anyway, it sounds like the FAA will probably fix this, but not before school gets out this summer.

I've been in contact with my local FAA operations drone expert and, if I understood him correctly, he believes that the new regs will only require passing a written test. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for this.

We have already purchased two P3 Advanced with all the extras so we are pretty well invested right now. I'm negotiating with the PE instructors at my schools to fly drones indoors in the practice gym so we don't violate any FAA rules. Looking forward to the day when we can get outside and have some fun!

If anyone is interested in sharing high school curriculum materials, I would be very interested. I am currently patching together a OneNote classroom notebook to share with my teachers. It is a composed of all different sources on the internet and anything I can find that is relevant to high school student drone flight.

Bill

• Like 3

Hi Bill

My best guess is that you do not need a 333 exemption or a licensed pilot.  The exemptions are only required for commercial use, and as you are not charging for instruction, I can't see how training students could be defined as a commercial use. You may want to contact the Academy of Model Aeronautics https://www.modelaircraft.org/joinnew.aspx?s=google.  They have a lot of training programs and could probably address your concerns definitively. Good Luck!