Sign in to follow this  
GaDrone

Non commercial shots for publication, website

If not prohibited by an organizations own rules, can photos/video taken by non-commercial pilot still be used by an organization for publication on website, print or promotion?  

Recently I did some "verbal permission acquired" footage of a mission project that this non-profit could use in a number of applications.  The CEO was ecstatic with the shots and passed them on to marketing.  The marketing person also loved the shots but asked for a copy of "my FAA license" which, as a hobbyist, I don't have.

How do I respond to this?  

Drones are registered.  AMA member.  

Technically speaking according to the FAA if you provide media to an organization that uses it for any type of promotion then they consider that a commercial activity requiring a waiver or part 107.  That would be the letter of the law. 

However, if you were not paid, a couple of things to keep in mind, some common sense, some poilitical and some, i don’t know - just some more...

its against the law for the FAA to regulate commerce.  It’s not part of what they do and by doing so they open themselves up to “pay-for-play” legislation.  This is partly why part 107 was so controversial when it was introduced and probably a big reason that the FAA lost all of the 333 exemptions law suites. 

Most don’t like taking on city hall.  A caveat or excuse is that you love flying and are an avid photographer therebye you did this as a bobbysists and did this for the “love” of your evocation.  Someone really liked your work and you shared it with them.  You have  no control of what someone does with it once you give it to them.