BillH

Real Estate photography

Hey all, I had a few questions regarding real estate photos and couldn’t locate answers by searching the archives so thought I’d try starting a topic here. I’m a new drone photography business owner and happy to do some drone photos for real estate agents while pursuing other clients. One prospective client asked if I could size the pictures correctly and then upload them to MLS. So far I haven’t gotten very far by trying to contact MLS.

What I have gotten is pitches to join various real estate photo companies…

Conflicting opinions on what the best photo editing software is…

…and not much else.

So hey, guys and gals who do real estate photo shoots, what would be a good photo editing program to get? Is there a standard file size etc. that MLS wants or does it vary by region? Beyond editing the pictures/video, do I need anything special (besides an agent’s log in) to interface with MLS? Are there any other questions I haven’t asked because I’m too new to this?

Thanks!

14 hours ago, BillH said:

upload them to MLS. So far I haven’t gotten very far by trying to contact MLS.

All MLS's are different and I can't recall what the format is, but you can check here: https://photographyforrealestate.net/

So hey, guys and gals who do real estate photo shoots, what would be a good photo editing program to get?

Photoshop Lightroom CC.  

Is there a standard file size etc. that MLS wants or does it vary by region?

It varies by region

Beyond editing the pictures/video, do I need anything special (besides an agent’s log in) to interface with MLS?

Not that I'm aware of but I don't do real estate for a living.

Thanks for the info Chuck. There's a lot of good material in that link and I appreciate  the Lightroom recommendation. 

Hey Bill. My standard export size for pictures going into MLS is 2400 pixels on the long end. Lightroom, Photoshop, and Photomatix are a good mix of programs, but Luminar and some others can also be useful.