Sign in to follow this  
Spitfire76

FAA Makes Major Drone ID Marking Change

Thanks for sharing @Spitfire76

You can get all the details of the new rule in our post: What Drone Operators Need to Know About the FAA’s Major Change to the Drone ID Marking Rule.

The rule requires small drone owners to display the FAA-issued registration number on an outside surface of the aircraft. Owners and operators may no longer place or write registration numbers in an interior compartment.

• Like 1

So what methods are people going to do to put their number on their drone? That is what I am not finding. Am I suppose to print a small piece of paper and tape it on to the drone. Where I live, we get a lot of high precipitation and humidity, and I feel like that label would come right off. 

Just some of my thoughts, I would like to find out more.

I have a question. I'm new to the drone thing (about 6 months in).  I did pass my AKT Test today (yaye for me!) and when I posted my news in a new UAV Group i joined a month ago, questions / comments came up about whether the test i passed was "for a hobbyist, or towards part 107 use."  honestly I wasn't aware of any Knowledge test for a hobbyist

Further into the comments on my post, they also made a comment about "hobbyist registration" versus "Commercial Registration" in adjunct response to that Interim Rule for ID publish yesterday...  again, i didn't know there were two options for reg. can anyone comment on these items?

3 hours ago, Philip Moore said:

So what methods are people going to do to put their number on their drone? That is what I am not finding. Am I suppose to print a small piece of paper and tape it on to the drone. Where I live, we get a lot of high precipitation and humidity, and I feel like that label would come right off.