FAA confirms shooting at drones is a federal crime

BrettRocketSci

Lead paragraph from the Pop Sci article this week, with link at the end:

It is a federal crime to shoot down aircraft, and this week, the FAA confirmed that that includes drones. This is great news for anyone who has a drone, and for anyone who doesn’t want errant bullets falling from the sky, and it’s bad news for anyone eager to pump a quadcopter full of lead.

http://www.popsci.com/it-is-federal-crime-to-shoot-down-drone-says-faa

They need to be more precise--is the crime the act of shooting, or only if you are successful at shooting it down??  They say the latter but it I'm quite certain it's the former, regardless of success or not.  Same law that they use to file charges against people using lasers against aircraft, I believe.

• Like 1

It would be great if we can get the US Attorney to file. As a retired cop, I suspect the US Attorneys will say they are too busy with drug, gangs, terrorism, etc. to bother with drones. Unless someone dies. It is an interesting legal exercise, since the FAA has chosen to insist our UAVs are aircraft and commercial UAV operators have to get an N number, it follows shooting at a commercial UAV is interfering with an air crew and destroying an "aircraft":

2. Aircraft Sabotage (18 U.S.C. 32)