Chase Flynn | UAV Coach

Where to Fly a Drone Near Washington, D.C.

It's often challenging to find a legal, safe, and visually interesting location to fly your drone, especially in a densely populated area with one or more airports.

After a round of comprehensive research, our team compiled a list of where to fly a drone near Washington, D.C. Here’s a guide we put together for drone laws in Virginia , and here’s another guide we put together for drone laws in Maryland that might be helpful.  

Where do you like to fly your drone near Washington, D.C.? We welcome your comments/experiences below.

I am new to flying drones, I came to the site to figure outwhere to fly near DC.  I decided to try Sandy Point Park.  When I got to the park and was about to pay the entry fee, I told them what I was here for, flying a drone.  The park employee told me that drones were not allowed in the park to respect people’s privacy.

So don’t fly at Sandy Point.

What about your rights?  Just because a drone is flying in the area doesn’t mean anyone’s privacy is being violated.  

I’ve never been there, maybe it’s just totally crowded, of coarse then you couldn’t fly there without flying over people, but using privacy as the standard is wrong.  I guess they don’t allow cell phones either.  

23 hours ago, Sandman said:

I am new to flying drones, I came to the site to figure outwhere to fly near DC.  I decided to try Sandy Point Park.  When I got to the park and was about to pay the entry fee, I told them what I was here for, flying a drone.  The park employee told me that drones were not allowed in the park to respect people’s privacy.

So don’t fly at Sandy Point.

I am beta testing the new FAA's B4FLY mobile app and assuming I have the correct location of the park here is a screen shot from my iPhone.

IMG_1624.thumb.jpg.9baac981a541c8f3b53657b56e5b75ac.jpg

I would check again by calling the state park administration and don't go by just one park employee's word.