Shaun Deardorff

Aerial Filmography Inquiry | Raleigh-Durham

Hey all, I'm a new drone photography business owner and am happy to do some drone photos and videos for real estate agents while pursing other clients. I live in the Raleigh/Durham area and recently got my Part 107 License, so I am looking for ways to monetize the license and make money with my drone. If anyone knows of any contacts in the Triangle area who could share some contacts with me, or if anyone knows of any good drone companies, other companies, or real estate companies that would be interested in hiring a licensed pilot, please let me know! Thank you for any help given!

Hey @Shaun Deardorff, thanks for joining the forum and congrats on getting your license.

Some quick comments, happy to flesh this out some more with you and looking forward to your response and others in this forum chiming in.

Despite a handful of full-time drone pilot job listings here and there (scroll to the bottom of the guide to see some), I'd encourage you to think about building out your own freelance business that could maybe turn into something more full-time down the road. The sooner you can get a website and portfolio up, the better. You can use something like SquareSpace to get started. Take a look at other drone pilot websites in different cities to see how they're pricing and packaging their services. Throw something up as soon as possible, it doesn't have to be perfect, but you need to have some kind of professional presence, particularly when you start reaching out for work.

Which brings me to my next point! I'd start developing a target list of companies to work with in the area. Real estate brokers, agents, firms, construction companies, property management companies, car dealerships, anyone that would benefit from high-end aerial photographs or video footage.

As an example, here's how Derrick Ward got started: