Want to discuss May 4 Memorandum? Educational Use of Unmanned Aircraft Systems?

As a high school teacher, I am very excited about the May 4 Memorandum from the FAA regarding Educational Use of Unmanned Aircraft Systems. Unfortunately, my jail-house lawyer skills are lacking, so I am curious to see what others get from reading it. https://www.faa.gov/uas/regulations_policies/media/Interpretation-Educational-Use-of-UAS.pdf

My take-away is:

If I am a public school and

• The course using the UAS is not specifically a course on UAS, but uses the UAS only as a part of the curriculum.
  • Students involved are enrolled in the class.
  • Students or staff are not directly compensated.
  • The instructor doesn't fly the UAS, except to avoid calamity

then, :

• Students fly as hobbyists
  • Staff only flies in event student loses control. (not sure how I save the UAS, if I never get to practice)
  • The program can be compensated as long as student and staff are not.

Still hazy on whether I need come type of FAA certificate or does the memorandum say I am good to go based on the memorandum?

I registered my UAS as "Public Entity" instead of "hobbyist" as per advice of FAA UAS hotline.

What is your take-away?

PS. at some point, it might be nice to have and "education" category.

@Bill Kaiser

So here is my take away after going through and reading the memorandum:

As to your understanding of the course curricula, section 336(a) outlines five major points that must be fulfilled be to covered by it, First is that it is strictly for hobby or recreational use. Second it is operated under a community based rule set (AMA, etc). third is the size limit (55 lbs), than comes non interference with manned operations, and lastly the 5 mile radius of an airport stipulation.