help - video editing - beginner

hello everyone - I am an newbie when it comes to downloading video...I'd like to learn to do some basic stuff (effects/time lapse/captions/music etc...) and compress the 4k video's as well so video can be played on older devices as well....I have no clue what software to use or where to start. I'm on Windows 10..I've searched and search and figured this would be a great place to start.  Thanks in advance for the input!! I know there are a lot of smart peeps here... :)

On 6/4/2016 at 5:54 PM, vortmaxx said:

hello everyone - I am an newbie when it comes to downloading video...I'd like to learn to do some basic stuff (effects/time lapse/captions/music etc...) and compress the 4k video's as well so video can be played on older devices as well....I have no clue what software to use or where to start. I'm on Windows 10..I've searched and search and figured this would be a great place to start.  Thanks in advance for the input!! I know there are a lot of smart peeps here... :)

Welcome! For Windows, the best software to get would be Adobe Premiere Pro CC. That can handle all of your editing, titles, music, and compressing (transcoding) needs. It isn't as easy to use as some other simpler software but to do basic tasks it really isn't that bad. It may seem daunting at first, but if you take it one step at a time, you can pretty easily put together a nice cut of footage with some music and export it to play on any device you want.