jwilton

Chinese drone security concerns

I’m very new to the drone world but am already seeing what a fluid situation the industry is in. With the DOI grounding all their Chinese made drones over security concerns, should I avoid buying DJI products? In favor of what?

Hi @jwilton

Welcome to the UAV Coach Community Forum! To answer your question, as a recreational or commercial operator, I would not be concerned. The Department of the Interior has grounded its fleet of drones over national security concerns. There has so far been nothing to indicate that the drones actually present a national security threat. This is a concern by the DOI that they have been investigating for months. 

I hope this helps and if you are looking for some guidance on which drone to buy; feel free to check out our 'Top Camera Drones' guide. 

Best,

- Chase 

The DOI is the last,  not the first, of 11 federal agencies that have either grounded or outright banned the use and procurement of Chinese manufactured drones. 

If your a hobbyist this is just noise, it’s  ot going to effect you.  If you plan on being a commercial operator you will be precluded from using DJI from any federally funded project or organization. 

Lots of DJI owners who this has not affected yet will tell you this doesn’t matter.  The ban has been in place and expanding since 2015.  It really depends on what you want to do commercially and who you want to do it for.  

If a small 4K camera will work for you then get a Skydio 2 and skip the whole mess.

Thanks! This looks like a great American made drone. I do plan to fly commercially but a lot of the companies seem to have software that only works with DJI drones. Don’t want to sink $$$ into a DJI drone that will limit who I can work for. 

• Like 1

Hello Jwilton,