Hi! I'm Cheri. I've been flying drones for about 5 years and have had my 107 certification since 2016 (can't believe I'm due to take my 3rd knowledge test this autumn!) I've been flying commercially since before the 107 was mandatory, and I mostly cover sporting events, festivals/outdoor events, real estate and some artsy shoots along the Illinois River. I also teach STEM Camp to kids from 4th-10th grade. I recently joined my local chamber of commerce and am working on becoming certified as a Woman/Minority Owned Business, so I expect my business to (hopefully) double in the next year or two. I currently fly DJI Phantoms, but I'm probably going to get a Mavic Pro (or something similar...still doing the research) this year and a Tello for demo & teaching purposes. Glad to be here!

Edited by Peoria Drone-Cheri
typos

Hi @Peoria Drone-Cheri

Welcome to the UAV Coach Community Forum! It is great to hear about your experience with your business and your STEM camp. It is always nice to see drones implemented into education, I am sure the kids enjoy learning about drones! 

Being that you have been flying for many years, how has your overall experience been with having your own drone business? Feel free to share any challenges/advice that you may have for others here on the forum. 

Looking forward to your response! 

- Chase 

My overall experience with the drone business has been very positive. I'd say the biggest hurdle is getting people to understand what drone footage can show, and how it could help them (or their business), and getting them to understand the cost involved. Our biggest client is Bradley University, and we have shot footage for their cross country, cheer & soccer teams as well as providing clips of the Peoria area for their basketball team's intro video.