wjules

All new to me - Help me pick up choose a drone

Hi, I'm very new to this drone scene but very intrigued and plan to buy one sooner than later. The question is, what to buy, especially as a new drone operator? Should I expect a lot of crashes and just buy a junk one first? Or get what seems like the best fit for me and just go for it and don't crash ; ). Maybe I'm expecting a harder learning curve than it will be.  Seems like you have to buy before you can try and fly one, i.e. no test flying product available it seems. 

On product;  I've seen the Phantoms and the Inspire both from dji. A cinematographer I met recently was the one encouraging to try this venture and possible work with her so she was pushing the Inspire, which after looking at it I see it can use two controllers one to fly and one to shoot, so I can see it would be advantageous for cinematography with a crew.  But I'm sure there are probably many great options that would work for me. Im not sure of my future usage but I would want to use it for commercial purposes once I get established. 

So those of you using them for commercial purposes or intending too.....what features have you have you found the most useful or features that are not big deal.  Do you find the wider angle cameras benefit most shoot styles or something not as wide?  I am not familiar enough to know how loud most of these drones are but I'm thinking flying too close and low with wider angle lens would be annoying. Thoughts? 

And how challenging was it for most of you learning to control these without damaging them? Or are most of these strong enough to handle a little learning curve?  

Thanks for any input!

• Like 2

@wjules