Drone sighting by general aviation pilot

Hello all,

I’m a bit of an intruder here I think.  Please excuse me but I can’t find the help I’m looking for anywhere on the web.  I’m a general aviation pilot and have given a small handful of drone sightings to ATC in the past but in the last 30 days I’ve had two very close encounters that I can’t explain.  The objects that I saw were what I assumed to be drones at first but the second sighting really confused me and made me question what I had seen in the first encounter.

I really don’t want to bore you with my experiences but I would like to know if anyone can help give closure to my sightings as being drones.  I can’t see any drones on the market that meet the visual description that I had in my flights.  I can’t tell you if they were moving or hovering in place because of my high speed but I can tell you that there was no left to right movement.  My initial assumption was that they were in motion opposite direction to me but that’s now clear to me impossible to prove.  

Both sightings were at illegal altitudes to my knowledge.  I was 5000 MSL on the first encounter and at a 15,000 on the second.  In both cases these objects were well within 50 feet of my plane.  In both cases my mind told me I was seeing birds and I prepared to avoid them but in both cases I realized just as quick that their motions were not bird-like and I just watched in fascination and curiosity as they got closer to me.

The first at 5000 looked like two drones shaped like cubes maybe 5 to 9 inches cubed.  They looked like they were flying in staggered formation and they passed just above my plane and slightly to the right.  I didn’t see any arms extending from the main body for propellers, just two cubes flying above my plane.  I didn’t think much about the shapes except that it wasn’t anything I’ve seen. I was more fascinated that there were two.  I was on an extended final to land so I quickly reported it and continued to my landing.