New comer and the first question

Hello, I am a newbie to the drone community and nice to meet you. I have some experience of flying drone in other countries, but it's first time to fly in US, and I am having some questions. Is it required for recreational operators to pass the aeronautical knowledge and safety test in California? 

It is confusing since some sources say it is not required for recreational use, FAA website says under "changes coming in the future" it is required for all drone operators to pass the test, and on the registration certificate, the last category indicates that the test is required for recreational use as well. What is the most up-to-date law about this? It would be a bummer for recreational operators to take $150 test..

I assume to be called "FAA licenced," you have to pass the test for sure?

Planning to fly drone on whale watching boat. The company says if you are FAA licenced, they allow you to fry drones. Does it refer to only those who passed the test I guess?

You do not need a license for recreational use but you should still make sure you're not flying in restricted/prohibited areas. You will need a FAA Part 107 license if you plan on making money with your drone or get caught and pay a fine. Also if you're flying a drone that's 0.55 lbs and above you should register it with the FAA and 55 lbs is the maximum drone weight limit for a drone to be flown by a license drown pilot. Hope that answers your question...

Hi!

I've been serious about drones for about two months. I am no expert on drones. However, I am a California native and an amateur photographer. Here are my opinions about your proposed drone flights in California off a whale boat.

You didn't specify the region of California for your whale watching trip. I don't know much about the areas outside the San Francisco Bay Area. However, let me please draw your attention to three organizations with regulations that might affect you. Check these authorities carefully.