Real Estate Photography Business

Sheldon B

Hey Everyone,

I am new to the drone industry and have been researching to gain more knowledge in the different avenues that flying drones could potentially take me. One sector that intrigues me is real estate photography. For those of you that do real estate photography, I am curious whether or not you offer only drone photography/video, or do you also offer internal pictures of the house with a handheld camera? I understand that drones are just another tool in the bag and offering a package that includes drone pictures/video and internal pictures is more profitable, but is there any business to be had with just offering ariel drone pictures/video in the real estate sector? Thanks! 

Welcome to the forum.

Thats a good question.  More of a thoughtful question really.  I'm sure you'll get a variety of answers depending on who answers.  This being a drone related forum the obvious answer might be that sure you can make money by just offering aerial photography/video.  I don't believe that for a minute.  There are many variables, the agents, the location, price per square foot, how good you might be at architectural photography and videography, editing, graphics etc..  

Your success will depend largely on how much influence you have on all of those variables.  Also are you good enough to create your own "look" or style that you can charge more for enabling you to spend ore time with a project or are you less expensive because your more efficient and make up margin on efficiency.  The latter is how most people approach this market because most are not in a location that can support the higher price-point.

I have shot a fair amount of property video because I like architectural photography but have not shot as much as I could have because I don't care for realtors.  This has created a kind of conflict in my business model...