Potentially wanted to get into this field after hating Engineering Design work. Need some help.

As for my background, I graduated in 2018 with a B.S in Civil engineering. I have been working 2 years in a structural design section for a government agency, and I absolutely hate it. There is so much to know and memorize and I don’t remember any calculations or formulas from school. I am constantly asking for help and struggling with anything given to me. I don’t know what I was thinking getting into type of work. I dread waking up every morning.

Looking at other options with a civil degree, I remember taking surveying in school. It was only one semester, but I actually enjoyed it. The math involved seems just enough to keep me engaged but not too heavy. And I also love doing CAD work in my current job and it seems like that is something done a lot for surveying.

Problem is I have no idea where to start. Other than the class I don’t have any experience with equipment or anything, and I feel like structural design is far from anything survey related, I never deal with maps or GIS software or anything. Is this an issue or will a civil degree help me in the door. Also what position do I start at? I’ve seen rodmen (seems like the very entry), surveyor technician, and just surveyor (is this the one that needs a license). I just don’t know

If you have any input or think this could be a potential career change I would love to hear anything you have to say. Thanks!

12 hours ago, Jinesh said:

As for my background, I graduated in 2018 with a B.S in Civil engineering. I have been working 2 years in a structural design section for a government agency, and I absolutely hate it. There is so much to know and memorize and I don’t remember any calculations or formulas from school. I am constantly asking for help and struggling with anything given to me. I don’t know what I was thinking getting into type of work. I dread waking up every morning.