FAA Pushes Type Certification Forward, Opening Airworthiness Criteria for Making 10 Drones Special Class Aircraft to Public Comment

Zacc Dukowitz

Recommended Posts

This week the FAA published airworthiness criteria for certifying 10 different drones as special aircraft.

According to the FAA, the criteria proposed for these 10 drones provide a level of safety equivalent to the level of safety provided by existing airworthiness standards for other types of aircraft.


The criteria create a clear path for other drone companies to follow in trying to secure type certification for their drones.

Read today's post to learn more about the 10 drones proposed for type certification, and why this step forward could be significant for the drone industry.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.