Start a company or work as an independent contractor?

TSutts

Hi all, happy new years!

I have received a couple offers from various real estate developers & boat/yacht brokers asking to take drone footage of their site & boats. 

Does it behoove me to establish my own company if i want to pursue these ventures in the future? such as my own LLC? Or should i work as an independent contractor? Which makes more sense? Need some business advice.

Thank you!

Troy

I think it will depend on how much effort you're interested in putting into a drone business.  If you're just looking for a little money on the side without the hassle of doing all of the things required to get your own company off the ground then contractor might be the way to go.  Of course, you're not going to be able to make as much money if you have to give a cut of each job to a middle-man company.

If you think this has the potential to become a full-time gig then it might be worth the extra effort of flying under your established brand.  At first you don't have to go the trouble of establishing an LLC - you can just function as a sole proprietor business which has fewer paperwork requirements.

I too am interested in pursuing opportunities using my drones: DJI Mavic 2 Pro, DJI Phantom 3. Since receiving my certification and FAA drone pilots license, the thought of being productive would be an awesome direction to generate income and experience.

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

TSutts, 

I am not an attorney, however I have been in business for over 35 years. My Attny indicated to me that you have "no" protection from your personal assets if you do not have a LLC, S-corp or C-corp. If someone hires you, regardless of how much they pay you, and sues, your personal assets could be liable. I think it was good advise I received many years ago. This is a very crazy world we live in and no one has a crystal ball on how a situation  will come out or what someone else will do. 

@Mojay+2